Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Skip Navigation Linksasia-middle-east-dialogue-(amed)

Asia-Middle East Dialogue (AMED)

The First Asia-Middle East Dialogue (AMED) was inaugurated in June 2005 in Singapore.


AMED was conceived by the former Prime Minister of Singapore (presently Senior Minister) Goh Chok Tong to foster dialogue and mutual understanding, as well as strengthen co-operation between Asia and the Middle East. Discussions in AMED are organized under three broad pillars: political and security issues, economic issues, and dialogue on social, educational, scientific, cultural and media issues.

AMED's membership is open to 49 countries and the Palestinian National Authority (PNA). The 49 countries are Afghanistan, Algeria, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, China, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritania, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan,, Philippines, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Syria, Tajikistan, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, UAE, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam, and Yemen.
The Second Ministerial Asia-Middle East Dialogue Meeting (AMED II) in Egypt in 2008.


Back to Top