Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Skip Navigation Linksdepartments-ASEAN


ASEAN Department

Director​ : Pengiran Hairani binti Pengiran Haji Tajuddin



Jalan Subok, Bandar Seri Begawan, 

BD 2710, Brunei Darussalam.

(673) 2261291 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 / 6

Fax :

(673) 2261997

E-mail :

The Department:

  • The national focal point on ASEAN related matters.
  • The repository of information on all ASEAN matters at the national level.
  • Coordinates the implementation of ASEAN decisions at the national level.
  • Coordinates and supports the national preparations of ASEAN meetings.
  • Promotes ASEAN identity and awareness at the national level.
  • Contributes to ASEAN community building.
  • Participates in meetings related to ASEAN, including the ASEAN Summit, ASEAN Coordinating Council (ACC) Meetings, ASEAN Political-Security Community (APSC) Council Meetings, ASEAN Foreign Ministers' Meetings (AMM), the Post Ministerial Conferences (PMC), the ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF), Joint Consultative Meetings (JCM) and ASEAN Senior Officials (SOM) Meetings.
  • Participates in ASEAN Meetings with its Dialogue Partners and meetings with other regional and international organizations.
  • Coordinates with relevant national lead agencies and Brunei Darusalam's Permanent Mission to ASEAN in Jakarta on ASEAN matters.
  • Works closely with the ASEAN Secretariat in Jakarta and the National Secretariats of other ASEAN Member States.


Other Information

  • Brunei Darussalam is the current country coordinator for ASEAN-New Zealand dialogue relations and ASEAN-United Kingdom dialogue relations from 2021-2024. 
  • As country coordinator, Brunei Darussalam is responsible for the coordination of all aspects of ASEAN's relations with New Zealand and the United Kingdom and acts as a link with other ASEAN Member States for matters concerning ASEAN-New Zealand as well as ASEAN-United Kingdom relations.

Back to Top