THE ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF PAKISTAN

Diplomatic relations between Brunei Darussalam and the Islamic Republic of Pakistan were established on 9 February 1984. Brunei Darussalam established its High Commission in Islamabad in 1992, while Pakistan set up its High Commission in Bandar Seri Begawan in 1985.

There have been a number of exchanges of visits between both sides. His Majesty the Sultan made two State Visits to Pakistan (1992 and 2004). From Pakistan there have been visits from President General Mohamed Zia UI-Haq (1984), Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto (1996), Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif (1999), President Pervez Musharraf (2000) and Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz (2005).

Both countries established a Joint Consultation for Bilateral Cooperation on 5 March 1996 aimed at consolidating and developing economic, commercial, education, scientific, technical and cultural cooperation between the two countries. Since then, two Joint Consultation Meetings (JCM) have been held in Islamabad (October 2000) and Bandar Seri Begawan (March 2006).

A number of cooperative agreements are in place such as:

- Air Services Agreement (22 December 1987);
- Agreement on the Establishment of Joint Commission for Bilateral Cooperation (5 March 1996);
- MOU on Consultation and Cooperation between Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Brunei
 Darussalam and Pakistan (19 May 2004);
- MOU on Defence Cooperation (19 May 2004);
- MOU on Combating Terrorism and other Transnational Crimes (19 May 2004);
- MOU on the Establishment of Joint Investment Company between Brunei Investment Agency and the Government of Pakistan (7 May 2005);
- MOU on Cooperation in the fields of Culture and related activities (7 May 2005);
- MOU on Health Cooperation (23 August 2007) and;
- Agreement for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with Respect to Taxes on Income (20 November 2008).

Brunei Darussalam and Pakistan have agreed on a 14 – day visa waiver for diplomatic and official passport holders.

THE REPUBLIC OF INDIA

Diplomatic relations were established on 10 May 1984.

His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam visited India in 1992 (State Visit), 2008 (State Visit) and 2012 (ASEAN-India Commemorative Summit).

The Bilateral Joint Committee Meeting between Brunei Darussalam and India was set up on 24 February 1995. The Joint Committee is intended to promote closer bilateral cooperation between both countries.

Brunei Darussalam and India signed the following MOUs/ Agreements

- MOU on Air Services Cooperation (signed on 9 January 1995) followed by Air Services Agreement (6 November 1995)
- Agreement on the Reciprocal Promotion and Protection of Investments (22 May 2008)
- MOU on Cooperation in Information and Communications Technology (22 May 2008)
- MOU on Culture, Arts, and Sports (22 May 2008)
- MOU on the Establishment of a Joint Trade Committee (22 May 2008)
- MOU on the Cooperation in the Operation of Telemetry Tracking and Telecommand Station for Satellite and Launch Vehicles and for Cooperation in the Field of Space Research, Science and Applications (22 May 2008)
- MOU on the Establishment of Nalanda University (10 October 2013)

THE PEOPLE'S REPUBLIC OF BANGLADESH

Brunei Darussalam and the People's Republic of Bangladesh established diplomatic relations on 5 May 1984. Brunei Darussalam opened its mission in Dhaka on 29 July 1999. Bangladesh opened its mission in Brunei Darussalam in July 1985. It was closed in 1988 and reopened in December 1997.

There have been various exchanges of visits on the ministerial and senior official levels. Brunei Darussalam has received several Foreign Ministers visits: Mostafizur Rahman in 1994, Alhaj Abdus Samad Azad in 1999 and Dipu Moni in 2013 (for ASEAN Regional Forum). Meanwhile, then-President Khaleda Zia visited Brunei Darussalam in 2004.

Cooperation has mainly focused on labour, defence, education and health.